

Annual General Meeting 2017 Minutes Tuesday 24th October

Buninyong Community House, 407 Warrenheip Street, Buninyong.

Meeting Opened: 7.37pm Welcome by Chairperson

Attendees introduce themselves.

Attendance: Andrea Mason, Sandra Weller, Gillian Armstrong, Louisa Jane Cunningham, Jane Bevelander, Michele Harvie, Nick McKinley, Talia Barrett, Jenny Oscar, Murray Norman, Bob Hartmann, Heather Fagg, David Ebbs, Peter Cameron. **Apologies**: Andrea Aldred, Susan Wishart, Roger Bellchambers.

Minutes of Annual General Meeting 2016 (held 25 October 2016)

Amendment required: Heather Fagg was omitted from the list of incoming board members.

Minutes amended.

Moved: Sandra Weller, Seconded: Louisa Jane Cunningham.

All in favour.

Matters Arising:

The proposed membership process has been fully implemented.

Chairs Report & Presentation of the Annual Report:

- Annual Report and Chair's Report tabled by Chair.
- Andrea Mason gave a vote of thanks to Jane and all them members who
 contributed to the completion of the report. Treasurers to give more detail
 about his report later in the meeting.
- We have had a pretty big year, lots of projects have been commenced and extra funding received. This includes funding for our biggest project, the Scotsburn Phoenix Project, which has been established to assist landholders affected by the 2015 bushfires.
- The extra funding received in 2016-17 has enabled the LCG to increase staffing hours and employ Michele Harvie as our Financial Officer. Michele's employment has lifted most of the burden from the Treasurer and strengthened our ability to meet reporting requirements. Thank you from the Chair to staff for an outstanding effort over the last 12 months.
- The new membership application process is up and running, there are now 34 members.
- Xenon Elis, who took up the role of treasurer in 2016, moved to Gippsland early in 2017 and has therefore resigned from the board. Peter Cameron stepped back in as treasurer to fill in until the AGM, but is now retiring. Peter will remain as a board member.

Web: www.leighcatchmentgroup.org Email: leighcg@ncable.net.au Tel: 0455 147 398

Moved: Andrea Mason, **Seconded**: Gillian Armstrong.

All in favour.

Treasurers Annual Financial Report:

- The robust finances of the last year have allowed the board to appoint Michele Harvie to look after day-to-day bookkeeping, and the treasurer is most pleased with her work. Peter Cameron has been on the board since the beginning of the LGC, but feels that it is time to move on and do something else. In contrast to when he commenced his role, there is now technology available for bookkeeping that was lacking in the old system.
- The YLCG has received much more funding this year compared to previous years, not only for the Scotsburn Phoenix Project, but the CCMA waterways funding has also grown significantly.
- The YLCG Financial Statement is included within the Annual Report.
- The Statement has been reviewed by an accountant, who has supplied a report which is also included in the Annual Report.
- There is a large surplus for the year, but this is not a profit, it is funds that are committed to projects and is really just held in trust.
- The final balance on the Balance Sheet, shows that the balance is similar to last year, but larger amount of cash in bank is held for committed projects.
 Many projects will be completed in the next few months and these funds will be dispersed during this time.
- The treasurer requested that members read carefully both the report and the report from the accountant.

Moved: Peter Cameron, **Seconded**: Heather Fagg. All in favour

The Chair complimented the board for their hard work, especially over the last three years to improve procedures, and gave a personal thanks to all for behind the scenes work.

Appointment of Board Members & Election of Office Bearers

Election of Office Bearers

The Chair stands down for the interim chair, Nick McKinley. All positions declared vacant.

There are currently 5 vacancies on the board. Andrea Mason and Louisa Jane Cunningham have completed their 2 year terms, but have been re-nominated for the board. Also, 2 nominations for new board members were received.

Nominations for the board:

Re-nominating:

- Andrea Mason, nominated by Peter Cameron.
- Louisa Jane Cunningham, nominated by Andrea Mason.

New members:

- David Ebbs, nominated by Andrea Mason.
- Murray Norman, nominated by Andrea Mason.

New members:

Moved, Gillian Armstrong, **seconded**, Talia Barrett All in favour.



Nominations for the executive:

Chair: Heather Fagg, nominated by Andrea. No other nominations received. Seconded by Louisa Jane Cunningham, Heather accepts the position of Chair.

Vice Chair: Bob Hartmann, nominated by Heather Fagg, no other nominations received. Seconded by Talia Barrett, Bob accepts the position of Vice Chair.

Treasurer: Gillian Armstrong nominated by Andrea Mason, no other nominations received. Seconded by Louisa Jane Cunningham, Gillian accepts the position of Treasurer.

Secretary: Sandra Weller nominated by Gillian Armstrong, no other nominations received. Seconded by Talia Barrett, Sandra accepts the position of Secretary.

Board Members:

Andrea Mason, Murray Norman, David Ebbs, Talia Barrett, Louisa Jane Cunningham.

There is still one vacancy.

Heather Fagg takes the chair, give thanks Nick for chairing, gives a big thank you to Andrea Mason and Peter Cameron. Peter has been on the board for 20 years and has served as treasurer for 10 of those years.

Other Business:

- Discussion about the organisation of the next board meeting. Consensus reached to hold the meeting at Crown Hotel, with dinner afterwards. Partners, landcare groups and members to be invited also. Meeting to be held at 6 pm, followed by dinner at 7 pm.
- Andrea Mason has redrafted the strategic report and sent out it out to board for comment. This document is to be sent to members also. Any responses received by Andrea will be discussed at the next board meeting.

Meeting closed: 8.12 pm.

Next meeting: 5 December.

Web: www.leighcatchmentgroup.org Email: leighcg@ncable.net.au Tel: 0455 147 398